Skip to content
Freephone 0800 032 1986

The Board & Committees

Herefordshire, Ludlow and North Shropshire College has 14 voluntary Members on its Board who bring a variety of skills to the Governing Body ranging from business, management and local community. There is also a Staff Governor elected and nominated by the staff and two Student Governors elected and nominated by students.

Composition of the Board

Independent Governors




Student Governors


Staff Governor




Membership of the Board

  • Igor Andronov (Chair) (Independent Governor)
  • James Caird (Independent Governor)
  • Tony Bramley (Independent Governor)
  • Julia Cotton (Independent Governor)
  • Julia Evans (Independent Governor)
  • Tony Ford (Independent Governor)
  • Laura Johnston (Independent Governor)
  • Debbie Lambert (Independent Governor)
  • Alan Layng (Vice-Chair)
  • (Independent Governor)
  • Adam Matthews (Student Governor)
  • Jeremy Nicholls (Independent Governor)
  • Elizabeth Quinn (Independent Governor)
  • Ben Whiteley (Student Governor)
  • David Williams (Principal and Chief Executive)
  • Sebastian Bowen (Co-opted Member Audit Committee)
  • Kevin Tong (Co-opted Member Audit Committee)

Membership to Committees

The Board has the following Committee structure:-

  • Audit Committee (statutory requirement)
  • Search and Governance Committee (statutory requirement)
  • Finance and Employment Committee
  • Quality and Standards Committee
  • Remuneration Committee

Further details of each committee's Terms of Reference can be viewed within the Terms of Reference of the board.

Audit Committee

  • Tony Ford (Chair)
  • Tony Bramley
  • Sebastian Bowen (Co-opted Member)
  • Kevin Tong (Co-opted Member)
  • Julia Cotton

Search and Governance Committee

  • Tony Ford (Chair)
  • Igor Andronov
  • Laura Johnston
  • David Williams
  • Alan Layng

Finance and Employment Committee

  • Alan Layng (Chair)
  • Igor Andronov
  • James Caird
  • Julia Evans
  • David Williams

Quality and Standards Committee

  • Laura Johnston (Chair)
  • Igor Andronov
  • Debbie Lambert
  • Jeremy Nicholls
  • Elizabeth Quinn
  • David Williams

Remuneration Committee

  • Igor Andronov (Chair)
  • Tony Ford
  • Laura Johnston
  • Alan Layng   
  • Jeremy Nicolls

Roles & Responsibilities

As defined by the Articles of Government, the Governing Body is responsible for: -

  • The determination of the educational character and mission of the institution and for oversight of its activities;
  • Approving the quality strategy of the institution;
  • The effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the institution and the Corporation and for safeguarding their assets;
  • Approving annual estimates of income and expenditure;
  • The appointment, grading, suspension, dismissal and determination of the pay and conditions of service of the holders of senior posts; and
  • Setting a framework for the pay and conditions of service of all other staff. “Senior Post’ means the post of Principal and such other senior posts as the Members may determine for the purposes of the Articles.

Generally, the Governing Body is responsible for the overall functioning of the College. It is responsible for the quality of the service to its learners and their welfare, the financial health of the College, the proper use of public funds, and for ensuring effective management. This includes agreeing policies and strategies and ensuring that the College’s aims and objectives are achieved.

It also has responsibility for setting and monitoring targets for the retention and achievement of learners – ensuring that learners continue their studies and achieve their learning goals. This will include strategies for improving skills, participation and learning and set targets for performance.

The Governing Body is also responsible for monitoring its own performance to ensure it operates to a high standard. HLC’S Governors will annually assess their performance by conducting and reviewing peer appraisals.

Terms in Office

Governors are normally appointed to serve a 4-year term of office. On retirement, a Governor is eligible for re-appointment for a further term of no longer than 4 years. Thereafter, in exceptional circumstances, and at the recommendation of the Search and Governance Committee, annual extensions may be granted. The Corporation must endorse these recommendations.

Student governors can only be appointed for the duration of their course at college.

Schedule of Meetings

Click here to download Schedule of Meetings in PDF Format.

Annual Timetable of Business

Click here to download Annual Timetable of Business in PDF Format.

Declarations of Interest

The Clerk will hold and maintain a register of Governors’ interests.

All Governors are required to manually complete an entry in the Register of Interests on an annual basis. Governors can add or remove interests from the Register during the year.

Governors are required to declare any personal or financial interests that could be seen to have an impact upon the exercise of their role and responsibilities as a Governor. Normally Governors will declare, at the outset of a meeting, any potential conflicts arising from the planned business of that meeting.

If a matter emerges during the course of a meeting which relates directly to an item of business under consideration, then a Governor should immediately declare an interest. The Chair will have the right to seek the Corporation’s decision as to whether or not that member should withdraw.